

## HAWAI'I STATE LEGISLATURE STATE CAPITOL

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 13, 2024

House Communications: Cathy S. Lee | 808-587-7242 Senate Communications: Matthew Prellberg | 808-586-6291

## HAWAI'I ISLAND LEGISLATORS SELECTED FOR PRESTIGIOUS CSG HENRY TOLL FELLOWSHIP

**Honolulu, Hawai'i** – The Council of State Governments has announced that Senate Majority Whip Lorraine R. Inouye and House Vice Speaker Greggor Ilagan have been selected to participate in the 2024 Council of State (CSG) Governments Henry Toll Fellowship.

Bringing together 49 individuals representing 34 states and U.S. territories and all three branches of state government, the Henry Toll Fellowship is the nation's premier leadership development program for state government officials.

"I am grateful and honored to have been selected for the CSG Toll Fellowship," said Senate Majority Whip Lorraine R. Inouye (D-1, Hilo, Pauka'a, Papaikou, Pepe'ekeo). "A special mahalo to Senate President Kouchi for his nomination and Senate leadership for their unwavering support. Having both legislators from Hawai'i Island given this opportunity to engage and network with other government officials nationwide is a wonderful accomplishment. I look forward to being a part of this select group next month in Lexington, Kentucky. The lessons learned will truly be a commitment to better serve our constituents and the State."

"I'm honored to have been selected for the CSG Toll Fellowship," said House Vice Speaker Greggor Ilagan (D-4, Puna). "I'm especially proud that both representatives from our state will be from Hawai'i Island. Our fellowship class embodies the call to public service, and I look forward to exchanging ideas with fellow government leaders to enhance policy development and improve government performance."

"While the CSG Henry Toll Fellows come from every region of our nation, from both political parties and all three branches of state government, they share one thing in common — they are all committed to improving the lives of the people they serve," said CSG Executive Director/CEO David Adkins, a former Kansas state senator and 1993 CSG Henry Toll Fellow alumnus. "Toll Fellows are selected based on their demonstrated commitment to solve problems,

to work collaboratively to get things done, and their belief that state government can and must be a force for good."

The Toll Fellowship honors the founder of CSG, Henry Toll, who, as a former state senator from Colorado, was the driving force behind the creation of CSG in 1933.

There are over 1,400 graduates of the Toll Fellowship, including four sitting state/territorial house speakers, eight sitting state supreme court justices, 10 sitting members of Congress, three sitting governors and more than 200 Toll alumni currently serving as state/territorial legislators.

## **About The Council of State Governments**

The Council of State Governments is our nation's only organization serving all three branches of state government. CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy. This offers unparalleled regional, national and international opportunities to network, develop leaders, collaborate and create problem-solving partnerships.

For more information about The Council of State Governments, visit *csg.org*.

###